Christopher Morgan Loy


Whether one describes the music of Christopher Morgan
Loy as a "solemn cortege floating by" or a "riveting intensity exploding
into pure delight," the music touches the listener in a penetrating
way. There is no escaping it. The mystery of Loy's music captures the
listeners and slowly draws them in until they are completely involved.
Since his debut as composer/pianist in 1978, Loy's compositions have
been received with anticipation and enthusiasm. He produces annual
concerts that premiere his works and present other works of new music.

Loy's career began in Detroit, Michigan where he studied piano with
Russian pianist, Mischa Kottler and composition with American composer,
Clark Eastham. He wrote his first compositions during this time. These
works include five large-scale sonatas for piano and wind instruments.
His Sonata for Clarinet and Piano, Sonata for Oboe and Piano,
and Sonata for Alto Saxophone and Piano received critical
acclaim. They continue to be performed by leading instrumentalists
across the country.

Continuing his study, Loy received a bachelor's degree in piano
performance from Wayne State University in Detroit and a master's degree
of music in composition from the Cleveland Institute of Music. He
earned a Doctor of Musical Arts in composition from Cornell University
in Ithaca, New York where he studied composition with Pulitzer
Prize-winning composer, Karel Husa and composer, Steven Stucky.

Loy has been a guest composer/pianist in many venues and recital
series throughout the mid-west and New York State. From 1987 - 1992, Loy
was a founding director of "EPICYCLE: an ensemble for new music" based
in Cleveland, OH. This organization helped to establish a significant
voice for new music in Cleveland.

Since the 1980s Loy has received over 25 commissions from members of
the Detroit Symphony Orchestra, St. Paul's Episcopal Church in
Cleveland Heights, the Sage Chapel Choir of Cornell University, and
individuals. He has received grants from New York State's Meet the
fund, the Gund Foundation, and the Cornell Council on the
Creative Arts. He was invited to attend the 1993 June in Buffalo
. In 1998 and 2001, he received the New York State Council
on the Arts Decentralization Program Grant to compose his Serenade
and String Quartet #1. His works have been premiered in
Cleveland, Detroit, Houston, New York, San Francisco, San Antonio, and

Loy is a member of BMI and the American Composers Alliance (ACA).

Additional Works