Jason Belcher


Jason Belcher (b.1987) is a composer and improviser whose music is concerned with stylistic mobility and varying degrees of performer control. He can be heard in various D.I.Y contexts throughout the Northeastern United States and is a member of the Vermont-Based ensemble Brass Balagan. In recent years he has worked with musicians such as Arthur Brooks, Anthony Coleman, Joe Morris, John Zorn, and was involved in the making of Voyage in a White Building I, a 2013 release of music by Burr Van Nostrand. Currently, Belcher teaches musicianship and history at the University of Pittsburgh, where he earned a Ph. D in Theory/Composition in 2023. 

Belcher previously attended the New England Conservatory, where he studied with Frank Carlberg, Robert Cogan, John Mallia, and the poet Ruth Lepson. His solo works and chamber pieces have been performed by vocalists Liz Pearse and Robert Frankenberry, violist Carrie Frey, Ensemble Linea, Loadbang, the Arditti Quartet, and the Pittsburgh Jazz Orchestra.     

ACE Publications

12 title(s)
Jason Belcher 1996 Violin, Clarinet, Trombone, and Piano
Jason Belcher 5 Chilcot Double Bass
Jason Belcher Astoria Park Toy Piano
Jason Belcher Big Mouth Billy Bass Bass Clarinet and Marimba
Jason Belcher Calami Sonum Ferentes String Quartet
Jason Belcher Carlo Gesualdo Two Violins
Jason Belcher Folk Settings Viola
Jason Belcher MoonDog String Quartet
Jason Belcher Point Breeze Solo Flute or Shakuhachi and Fixed Media
Jason Belcher Shadow Shuttle Solo Shakuhachi or C Flute
Jason Belcher She Loved Cecil Taylor/We Were Seventeen Three to Five Players and Fixed Media
Jason Belcher Yacht Society Combat Club Open Instrumentation (7 or More Instruments or Voices)

Additional Works