ACA Board and Staff

The American Composers Alliance
PO Box 1108
New York, NY 10040

Tel: (212) 837-8082
General Email: info@
To purchase/rent/price inquiries: sales@

Gina Genova,  Director, sales, licensing, and program development.
E: ggenova [at] composers [dot] com
Will Rowe, Associate Director, composer relations
E: willrowe [at] composers [dot] com
Sophie Marie Rymarowicz, Production Associate, score digitizing
Simon Henry Berry, Curator-Editor, catalog development


Composer Board of Governors 2022-23

Robert Carl - Composition Department Chair at the Hartt School of Music, University of Hartford; Writer Fanfare Magazine; Former Co-Director of the Extension Works New Music Ensemble in Boston; Performer, keyboards and shakuhachi.

Robert Gibson (Treasurer), composer whose works have been performed throughout the United States and in Europe, China and South America by noted performers and ensembles. He is Professor and former Director (2005–2016) of the School of Music at the University of Maryland, College Park.

Jan Gilbert is a nationally recognized composer. Her work has been commissioned by Chanticleer, the Dale Warland Singers, Ars Nova Singers, LISTEN, the American Guild of Organists, the St. Paul Civic Symphony, the University of Illinois Chamber Singers, the University of Maine Chamber Singers, Hamline University, A Cappella Singers, WomanVoice and the United Nations Association International Choir. She has received support from the National Endowment for the Arts, McKnight Foundation, Jerome Foundation, Northwest Area Foundation, Walker Art Center, American Composers Forum and the Otto Bremer Foundation, and has completed several residencies at the MacDowell Colony.

David E. Gordon founded the Look & Listen Festival, a non-profit series of new music concerts in New York City art galleries and served as President of the League of Composers/ISCM. During his tenure as President of the League/ISCM, David launched the Orchestra of the League of Composers, started Residency, Membership, and Commissioning Programs, and quintupled the organizational budget. David also has taught on the faculty of New York University and Hofstra University.

Doug Harbin (Secretary) is a composer, performer, and educator residing in Moorhead, Minnesota. He composes acoustic and electroacoustic systematic music and his works have been performed throughout the world including Australia, Canada, China, England, Finland, South Korea, and the United States. Much of his music utilizes a method dubbed the 'Take-Away System', which applies modular arithmetic over a finite set. 

Barbara Jazwinski studied composition and theory at the Fryderyk Chopin Academy of Music in Warsaw, Poland. She received her M.A. degree in composition and piano from Stanford University and her Ph.D. in composition from the City University of New York. Her teachers included Mario Davidovsky, Andrzej Dobrowolski, Gyorgy Ligeti and John Chowning. Currently, she is Head of the Composition Program at the Newcomb Music Department, Tulane University in New Orleans.

Aaron Larget-Caplan is an international recording and touring guitarist, award winning curator, producer, publisher, and composer. A self-taught composer, Larget-Caplan’s compositional influences include John Cage, Toru Takemitsu, and the over 100 composers he has collaborated with. He has premiered over 110 compositions, many written for his New Lullaby Project, and his groundbreaking arrangements and recording of the music of John Cage are published and recorded by Edition Peters and the UK label Stone Records. He has 10 critically acclaimed solo albums for Stone Records and Tiger Turn.

John McDonald is a composer who tries to play the piano and a pianist who tries to compose. He is currently Professor of Music at Tufts University, where he teaches composition, theory, and performance. Described as “the New England master of the short piece,” he has composed upwards of 3000 solo piano miniatures gathered in annual collections (Piano Albums 1984-2023, and ongoing). He has performed many of these works, as have more than forty other pianists.

Dana Dimitri Richardson is a composer and music theorist whose seminal work on the 21st century harmonic system, syntonality, is published online by the Goldberg Stiftung. After earning a Ph.D. in Theory and Composition from New York University in 2001, he taught at Fredonia College and New York University. During 2004-2006 he worked as a securities analyst on Wall Street and is now running his own investment advisory service, Well-Tempered Capital Management, LLC, while maintaining his compositional activity throughout. 2007 Winner John Eaton Memorial Competition, New York Composers Circle. 

Marilyn Shrude (Vice-President) earned degrees from Alverno College and Northwestern University, and has served on the faculty of Bowling Green State University since 1977. She has been honored with awards from the Guggenheim Foundation, the American Academy of Arts and Letters, among others. She was the first woman to receive the Kennedy Center Friedheim Award for Orchestral Music and the Cleveland Arts Prize for Music.

Michael Slayton (President) is Associate Professor of Music Theory and Composition and Chair of the Composition/Theory Department at the Blair School of Music, Vanderbilt University in Nashville, Tennessee. He was a student of Michael Horvit, Jerome Reed, David Ashley White. He is a member of the American Composers Alliance, the College Music Society, the Society of Composers, Inc., the South Central Society for Music Theory, and BMI.

Edward Smaldone is Professor of Music and Associate Director at the Aaron Copland School of Music, Queens College, City University of New York. He was the Director of the School of Music from 2002 – 2016. His composition teachers include George Perle, Ralph Shapey, Henry Weinberg and Hugo Weisgall. Smaldone is the recipient of many awards including the Goddard Lieberson Fellowship from the American Academy of Arts and Letters. In 2016 he was named “Composer of the Year” by the Classical Recording Foundation at a ceremony at National Sawdust.

Gerry Fifer, Law Office of Gerry A. Fifer
Christine Clark, President emeritus, Theodore Front Musical Literature.
Vincent J. Novara, Head of Acquisitions, Library of Congress, Music Division
Richard Scerbo, Director, National Orchestral Institute and Festival

Elected members of the ACA Board of Governors serve 4-year terms of service. Committees consisting of Board members, advisers, and ACA composers are appointed at the discretion of the Board officers. The Board of Governors meets 3 to 4 times per year.

*ACA is an equal opportunity employer and publishing affiliate and does not discriminate or tolerate discrimination against any applicant for employment or services, because of age, sex, gender, disability, national origin, race, or veteran status.